Which Book Shall I Begin Reading?

New member? Feel free to introduce yourself...

Which Book Shall I Begin Reading?

Postby PSavino » Sat Sep 22, 2012 6:11 pm

I am a pastor and just went to visit a stranger in a convalescent hospital near Palm Springs, CA. She was reading a book. I asked her if she was enjoying her book.....she said...'NO!'. I then asked if she had a favorite author. She said, I have always loved Wilbur Smith. She went on to tell me that she was born in England....but at age 31 moved with her husband to Zimbabwe for 17 years...and then to South Africa.
She asked if I knew Wilbur Smith, the author. I told her, 'no'.
Here is the deal. I want to bring Doreen one of Wilbur's books. Doreen is 87 years old. WHAT BOOK SHALL I BRING TO HER. I believe she would enjoy one of his earlier books.
What book shall I order? Please.
PSavino

Currently Reading: none

Re: Which Book Shall I Begin Reading?

Postby tedd » Sat Sep 22, 2012 8:26 pm

Oh Pastor what can we say!! If the lady has been a fan of Wibur's for such a long time then she has probably read all of the earlier books. Popular vote by this forum puts Wilbur's first book "When the Lion Feeds" as being the best and there is no doubt that it can be read and enjoyed many times. Followed by the "Sound of Thunder" - I would say both of these books would bring back happy memories for her.
As an 87 yo myself and a former resident of Zimbabwe please relay the Forum's good wishes to her in her convalescence.
I have no doubt that other members will offer a contribution
tedd
Veteran Member
Veteran Member

Postby E-Hoog » Sun Sep 23, 2012 5:50 am